© Copyright

Corinne Le Cicle or the conquest of abstraction

Corinne Le Cicle paints from memory. When she is in Prague, she paints images of Africa, Camargue, and Nepal. When she is in Lisbon, she paints the cafes that border the Seine River. When in Kiev, she paints dizziness.

Slowly she finds her own way of expression, inspired by shapes and colors of flowers.
Wild flowers, blooming magnificiently with their everlasting chromatic shades. Jardin anglais displays her imagination: "This painting was made from the sole desire to paint and express my ideal garden, my paradise".
These flowers are also created from her memory.

Throughout time, Corinne Le Cicle's flowers metamorphose into little colored circles that surround other circles provoking many rhythms and movement of colors. Unique organic buds arranged into dotted groups allow us to think of Judith's necklace painted by Klimt Rocaille.
When it comes to circles, she links them to lines, creating an abstract composition. In Carnaval, the circles float and dance with serpentines just like Kandinsky ... As if abstraction gave her dizziness ... she recurs.

During her journey of images, the artist constantly comes back to her floral patterns as if she needed to attach herself to reality before starting her path towards abstraction: "I cannot stop myself from being inspired by the realism and naturalism, it's a trip back to earth to take a break from human kind that I study through abstract art" says the artist.

The abstract paintings that she performs, those circles that gain weight and finish in spikes, the segments that display opposition, the arabesques that make the colors vibrate and rhyme, depict on the canvas her view of the world: "I use shapes as a language to express my ideas. My paintings are thesis and anti thesis, a writers path whose tool is a brush."

This is how her metaphorical titles add to the content of the painting, the hidden meaning behind the graphical metaphor.

The artist's intention is to speak about the world in which we reside, that give her inspirational feelings of a profound humanity. Le nid de coucou was created as a "closed painting without any opening to the rest of the world". Through this image, she denounces the corruption that prevents states from establishing democracies. With La carte révolutionnaire, she criticizes the unfinished revolts of the population who lack economical means and political awareness. L'Art migratoire was dictated to her in order to open our eyes to the destiny of "boat people who migrate towards dream lands but whose future falls in an abyss of despair". Red and passionate, L'arbre de cœur "family love that nourishes the world".

Corinne le Cicle has two artistic views. For one, she likes to paint nature, particularly that free beauty that inspires her view of flowers... On the other hand, she also wants her art to bring a critical opinion of the political and economic scene where power overtakes humanity.

Translated from French to English by Nicolas Journel
njournel101@hotmail.com

Tv Bcv (11th february 2008) - interview

Speaker: What do you think about the work of Corinne Le Ciclé?

Mr. Oleg Pinchuk: It is full of talent, fresh, very unique, flamboyant. I have the impression that all her paintings portray kindness. When we enter here, we feel a real sense of magic, a color enchantment. The structure of her art is intuitively well balanced, but the approach is very professional. We understand that her paintings can enhance each office, each home interior... This is the reason to come back here, look around one more time, think, maybe we will buy something...

Speaker: Mr. Pinchuk has in his private collection the art works of Maria Primatchenko (well known naive Ukrainian artist) who had the same view of the world depicted with kindness similarly to Corinne Le Cicle.
 
 


Jardin Anglais

Rocaille

Carnaval

Le nid de coucou

L'Art migratoire

L'arbre de cœur

© Protection des
droits d'auteurs

Corinne Le Ciclé ou la conquête de l'abstraction

Corinne Le Ciclé peint de mémoire. Quand elle est à Prague, elle peint des images d'Afrique de Camargue, du Népal. Quand elle est à Lisbonne, la guinguette en bord de Seine. A Kiev, elle peint des vertiges.

Peu à peu elle trouve un langage qui semble lui convenir, inspiré par la forme et les couleurs des fleurs.
Des fleurs sauvages avec leur infinité de nuances chromatiques sortant de l'herbe leur magnifique petite tête de pétale. Jardin anglais traduit son imaginaire: "Cette toile est née du seul désir de peindre et d'exprimer mon idée du jardin idéal, mon paradis".
Ses fleurs sont aussi créées à partir de sa mémoire.

Au fil du temps, les fleurs de Corinne Le Ciclé se métamorphosent en de petits cercles colorés qui encerclent d'autres cercles provoquant des rythmes et des jeux de couleur. Des étranges boutons organiques parsemés par groupes nous font penser au collier de Judith peint par Klimt: Rocaille.
Les cercles, elle les associe à des lignes organisant des compositions abstraites. Dans Carnaval, ils flottent en compagnie de formes serpentines comme chez Kandinsky. ... Comme si l'abstraction lui donnait le vertige... Elle récidive.

L'artiste revient constamment au cours de son aventure picturale à ses motifs floraux naturalistes comme si elle avait besoin d'un repère originel pour recommencer sa démarche vers l'abstraction:
"Je ne peux m'empêcher de revenir à l'art naturaliste et réaliste, c'est un retour à la terre pour me reposer des hommes que j'étudie à travers l'art abstrait" dit l'artiste.

Les toiles abstraites qu'elle exécute, ses cercles qui prennent du poids et finissent en pointe, les segments qui marquent des oppositions, les arabesques qui font vibrer les couleurs et les font rimer inscrivent sur la toile, sa conception du monde: "Je me sers des formes comme d'un langage pour exprimer mes idées. Mes toiles sont des thèses et des antithèses, une démarche d'écrivain dont l'outil est un pinceau".

C'est ainsi que les titres métaphoriques qu'elle choisit complètent leur contenu, le sens qui se cache derrière, la métaphore graphique.

L'intention de l'artiste est de parler du monde dans lequel nous vivons et qui lui inspire des sentiments d'une profonde humanité. Le nid de coucou elle l'a conçu comme une "toile fermée, sans échange". À travers cette image, elle dénonce la corruption qui fait obstacle aux démocraties naissantes. Avec La carte révolutionnaire, les révoltes inabouties des peuples auxquels manquent la malice politique et les moyens économiques. L'Art migratoire lui a été dicté par le destin de boat people qui migrent vers des "terres meilleures" mais dont l'avenir se transforme dans un gouffre. Rouge et passionné, L'arbre de cœur prouve "l'amour de la famille qui nourrit le monde".

La démarche artistique de Corinne le Ciclé est double. Elle aime peindre la nature particulièrement cette beauté libre que lui inspire la vue des fleurs... Et parallèlement, elle entreprend un travail engagé et critique du monde politique et économique qui préfère le pouvoir à l' humain.

Ileana Cornea février, Paris 2008

Tv Bcv (11 février 2008) - extrait de l'interview

Speaker: Que pensez vous du travail de Corinne Le Ciclé?

Mr. Oleg Pinchuk: C'est très talentueux, frais, vraiment particulier et plein d'éclat. Et j'ai l'impression que toutes ses toiles émanent de la bonté. Quand on entre ici, on pénètre dans une vraie magie, c'est un enchantement de la couleur. Les compositions sont bien équilibrées, d'une façon intuitive, mais l'approche est tout à fait professionnelle. On comprend que ces toiles peuvent embellir chaque bureau, chaque intérieur de maison. Voilà pourquoi il faut revenir ici à la galerie pour regarder encore une fois, réfléchir et acheter quelque chose.

Speaker: Mr Pinchuk a dans sa collection privée les oeuvres de Maria Primatchenko (artiste naïve ukrainienne reconnue) qui avait une vision du monde pénétrée de la même grande bonté que Corinne Le Ciclé.
 
 


Jardin Anglais

Rocaille

Carnaval

Le nid de coucou

L'Art migratoire

L'arbre de cœur